Punjab Assembly, second after Kerala, passes resolution against CAA

Punjab Assembly on Friday passed a resolution against the contentious Citizenship Amendment Act that was cleared by Parliament last month, the second assembly after Kerala to call for scrapping the law.

Chief Minister Amarinder Singh later told reporters that his government would also move the Supreme Court against the CAA. Kerala had earlier this week joined the 60-odd petitioners who have already approached the top court against the law that lets the government fast-track citizenship request of people on grounds of religion.

The resolution said the citizenship law was ‘divisive and stands for everything opposed to a free and fair democracy, which must enshrine equality for all’.

Jharkhand Assembly Polls: Voting for fourth phase underway

Polling for the fourth phase of the five-phased Jharkhand Assembly elections began at 7 am on Monday. The polling is scheduled to be held across 15 constituencies in the state and will conclude at 3 pm at Jamua, Bagodar, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi, while for the rest of the seats, the voting will continue till 5 pm, officials of the Election Commission said.

Vijayanagara (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Winner, Runner-up

Vijayanagara (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Bye-election for Vijayanagara constituency in Karnataka was held on December 5. About 66.25 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls to 15 constituencies across nine districts of Karnataka. The seats fell vacant after 17 rebel MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) parties defected to the BJP…

Jharkhand Assembly poll LIVE:

CM Raghubar Das, speaker in fray as voting begins for 20 seats The second phase of polling for the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will be held on Saturday. Twenty assembly constituencies in the state will go to polls in the second phase today. The Jamshedpur(East) and Jamshedpur(West) constituencies will vote between 7 am and 5 pm,…