Jharkhand Assembly poll LIVE:

CM Raghubar Das, speaker in fray as voting begins for 20 seats

The second phase of polling for the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly will be held on Saturday. Twenty assembly constituencies in the state will go to polls in the second phase today. The Jamshedpur(East) and Jamshedpur(West) constituencies will vote between 7 am and 5 pm, while the voters in the rest 18 can exercise their franchise between 7 am and 3 pm. Some prominent candidates in the fray are Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon, Rural Development Minister Neelkanth Singh Mund and JD-U president Salkhan Murmu. The political parties are in full swing to contest the Jharkhand Assembly elections which will be held in five phases. The BJP and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) are contesting in all the 20 constituencies, while the opposition alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress are contesting in 14 and six seats respectively. The RJD has fielded no candidate in the second phase of polling. The first phase concluded on November 30 with 62.87% voter turnout amid political clashes. 

Jharkhand CM, speaker, ministers try their luck as second phase polling of begins

The fates of Chief Minister Raghubar Das, Speaker Dinesh Oraon and ministers Neelkanth Singh Munda and Ramchandra Sahis will be decided as the second phase of polling in Jharkhand began this morning.

Today’s voting will also see the BJP state chief Laxman Gilua trying his electoral luck.

They are among the 260 candidates in the fray in 20 assembly seats. Of them 29 are women nominees and 73 are independents.

Jharkhand Assembly polls: Polling underway in Khunti

People have queued up to cast their votes at a polling station in Khunti during the second phase of voting for Jharkhand Assembly elections.


if you like the article information then press the like button, Comments you’re opinions about this article and share it with family and friends on social media platforms

SUSCRIBE Quickclarity news to get latest news updates.

Thank you for reading.