Accept defeat: Shivakumar as BJP leads in 12 of 15 seats in Karnataka bypolls

Accept defeat: Shivakumar as BJP leads in 12 of 15 seats in Karnataka bypolls

Senior Congress leader DK Shivakumar on Monday accepted defeat in the Karnataka bypolls with the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead in 12 of the 15 seats.

‘We have to agree with the mandate of the voters of these 15 constituencies. People have accepted the defectors. We have accepted defeat, I don’t think we have to be disheartened,’ Shivakumar was quoted as saying by news agency ANI.

The BJP surged ahead when the counting of votes began On Monday morning. After eight rounds of counting, the BJP was leading in 12 constituencies, Congress in 2, Janata Dal (Secular) in 1 and an Independent candidate in 1 seat.

The BJP has the simple majority of 105 in the 208 member Karnataka assembly. Congress has 66 MLAs and JD(S) 34. Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa has to win six seats to retain power since his party also has the support of an Independent.


if you like the article information then press the like button, Comments you’re opinions about this article and share it with family and friends on social media platforms

SUSCRIBE Quickclarity news to get latest news updates.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.